In addition to ETH Zurich and Empa, we cooperate with further public and private institutions to carry out R&D projects.

Impulse Project Deep Learning for high-quality Wood Products with Innosuisse

Swiss Wood Solutions offers high-quality wood products in luxury markets with highest quality standards. Thus, high and reliable quality of the raw material is pivotal. Evidently, the properties of our raw material, wood, are subject to natural variability. The Impulse Project Deep Learning for high-quality Wood Products targets the development and implementation of a machine learning algorithm (MLA), which records and analyzes raw material and process parameters and hence allows real-time predictions of product quality.

Most importantly, the MLA is expected to help ensure value creation through optimized quality assurance. Additional project benefits are an optimized production yield, reduction of resource and energy consumption thanks to less scrap and optimized process parameters as well as a more flexible production. Once implemented, Swiss Wood Solutions aspires to involve suppliers and customers into the digitalization concept. By doing so, various stakeholder of the Swiss and European wood-based industry can benefit from more detailed raw material insight.

The Impulse Project Deep Learning is carried out in cooperation with Empa and supported by Innosuisse, the Swiss Innovation Promotion Agency. Innosuisse promotes the partnership between academia and markets with innovation projects, networking, training and coaching, laying the groundwork for successful Swiss start-ups, products and services. The project runs from November 2019 until October 2020.

More about Innosuisse >

RETWood with Eurostars

In response to the ecological, ethical and legal concerns associated with the use of tropical woods in string instruments making, Swiss Wood Solutions has developed the sustainable product Sonowood. The innovation’s aim is to replace endangered tropical woods in musical instruments. Sonowood is an extremely dense and hard wooden material. It was found that thanks to its very compact wood fibre structure, Sonowood can be milled particularly well and precisely. However, the particular production parameters and wood species can influence its behavior in fitting production through CNC machining.

The objective of the RETWood Project (Replacing Endangered Tropical Woods) is to carry out these investigations and ultimately develop an automated CNC machining process. The acquired CNC-milling competence, including CAD/CAM programming, will enable SWS to produce Sonowood fittings much more efficiently. The acquired CNC-milling competence can also be used for the development of further products consisting of precisely shaped wooden pieces such as woodwind instruments (flutes, clarinets), tool handles (knives, hammers), stationary products and luxury items (jewellery, watches, cameras).

The RETWood project is carried out in cooperation with the French fitting manufacturer Bois d’Harmonie and supported by Eurostars, a joint programme between EUREKA and the European Commission. Eurostars supports international innovation projects led by research and development-performing small- and medium-sized enterprises (R&D-performing SMEs). The project runs from November 2019 until October 2022.

More about Eurostars >

 Innosuisse

TEEWood project with Horizon 2020

To build up on the promising results from the two projects sponsored by Gebert Rüf, Swiss Wood Solutions aspires to scale up the technology to produce wood for larger stringed instruments such as guitars and cellos. In addition, SWS aims to evaluate production for percussion instruments and expand the application fields of the technology to wooden sports equipment. For this purpose, SWS filed an application for financial support by the European research and innovation program Horizon 2020. Created and financed by the European Union, Horizon 2020 couples research and innovation to tackle societal challenges and deliver economic growth. For promising science projects and derived business ideas, nearly 80 billion of funding are available from 2014 to 2020.

In cooperation with accelopment a service provider specialized on applications for public funding programs, SWS filed a submission titled TEEWood (Technologically Enhanced European Wood for Substituting Endangered Tropical Woods). With the constructive help of accelopment, SWS completed the highly complex and time-consuming application process in October 2017. To our greatest delight, the submission was approved and the company received a grant of 1.5 million. Proof of competitive product properties, promising market opportunities and growth potential helped secure the funds starting in February 2018 and running through January 2020.

The upscale of the developed technology targeted in the TEEWood project with Horizon 2020 is expected to bear a range of impacts. Most importantly, the project is expected to solve the raw material scarcity problem of tropical wood-dependent industries such as the musical instrument industry. At the same, the customer benefits from a high performance material with custom-made physical properties, which comes along without any ethical issues and trade restrictions. Ecologically, a successful TEEWood project will make a precious contribution to save botanical diversity and enhance sustainable forestry in tropical areas. On a global political level, the project targets to reduce the incentives for illegal overexploitation of tropical forests as well asfor piracy and corruption in affected countries. From a cultural perspective, the TEEWood project is expected to save the traditional instrument manufacturing profession by providing a suitable and legal raw material.

More on the TEEWood project >

Horizon 2020

Swiss Ebony project with the Gebert Rüf Foundation

Since March 2016 Swiss Wood Solutions has been financially supported by the Gebert Rüf Foundation. The private funding agency aims to boost entrepreneurial projects in Switzerland, which are committed to achieve an impact in current science and innovation challenges. Gebert Rüf has funded two projects at Swiss Wood Solutions. In the Swiss Ebony project, SWS succeeded to achieve dimensional stability of densified wood materials. The positive experimental results delivered the proof of concept and confirmed feasibility for the application of the material in the musical instrument market.

In the Swiss Ebony II project, which is set to run until June 2018, SWS targets the fine-tuning of physical and acoustics properties of the densified wood material. The adjustability of crucial parameters such as density and sound-propagation velocity enables SWS to acquire unique selling propositions in the musical instrument market. Thanks to the generous support by Gebert Rüf, Swiss Wood Solutions has established and initiated pilot production. Technology readiness level 6 (TRL 6) has been reached, implying the accomplishment of the prototyping phase. For violins and violas, market readiness has been achieved.

Gebert Rüf Foundation >

Gebert ruef

Zusätzlich zur ETH Zürich und Empa kooperieren wir mit weiteren öffentlichen und privaten Institutionen im Rahmen von Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten.

Impulsprojekt Deep Learning für hochwertige Holzprodukte mit Innosuisse

Swiss Wood Solutions bietet hochwertige Holzprodukte in Luxusmärkten mit höchsten Qualitätsstandards an. Eine hohe, verlässliche Qualität des Rohmaterials ist dabei unerlässlich. Als natürlicher, nachwachsender Rohstoff unterliegen die Eigenschaften von Holz einer natürlichen Variabilität. Das Impulsprojekt Deep Learning für hochwertige Holzprodukte verfolgt die Entwicklung und Implementierung eines maschinellen Lernalgorithmus (MLA), der Rohstoff- und Prozessparameter erfasst, analysiert und damit Vorhersagen über die Produktqualität in Echtzeit ermöglicht.

Konkret soll der MLA die Wertschöpfung durch eine optimierte Qualitätssicherung sicherstellen. Die Überwachung und Optimierung des Herstellungsprozesses mittels Machine Learning ermöglicht zudem eine optimierte Produktionsausbeute, reduziert den Ressourcen- und Energieverbraucht und erhöht die Flexibilität der Produktion. Swiss Wood Solutions ist bestrebt, nach erfolgreicher Implementierung Lieferanten und Kunden in das Digitalisierungskonzept einzubeziehen. Auf diese Weise können verschiedene Akteure der schweizerischen und europäischen Holzwerkstoffindustrie von einem vertieften Rohstoffwissen profitieren.

Das Impulsprojekt Deep Learning führt Swiss Wood Solutions in enger Kooperation mit der Empa durch. Unterstützt wird das Projekt von Innosuisse, der schweizerischen Agentur für Innovationsförderung. Innosuisse fördert mit Innovationsprojekten, Vernetzung, Ausbildung und Coaching gezielt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Industrie, so dass daraus erfolgreiche Schweizer Start-ups, Produkte und Dienstleistungen entstehen können. Das Projekt läuft von November 2019 bis Oktober 2020.

Mehr zu Innosuisse >

RETWood mit Eurostars

Als Antwort auf die ökologischen, ethischen und rechtlichen Bedenken beim Gebrauch von Tropenhölzern im Instrumentenbau hat Swiss Wood Solutions das nachhaltige Produkt Sonowood entwickelt. Ziel der Innovation ist es, gefährdete Tropenhölzer in Musikinstrumenten zu ersetzen. Sonowood ist ein extrem dichtes und hartes Holzmaterial. Dank der sehr kompakten Holzfaserstruktur lässt es sich besonders gut und präzise gefräst werden kann. Die Produktionsparameter und Holzarten können jedoch das Fräsverhalten bei der CNC-Bearbeitung beeinflussen.

Ziel des RETWood Projekts (Replacing Endangered Tropical Woods) ist es, einen automatisierten CNC-Fräsprozess für Sonowood zu entwickeln. Die erworbene CNC-Fräskompetenz, einschließlich CAD/CAM-Programmierung, wird es ermöglichen, Sonowood-Formteile viel effizienter herzustellen. Die Erkenntnisse können ferner für die Entwicklung weiterer Produkte genutzt werden, die aus formgenauen Holzstücken bestehen, wie etwa Holzblasinstrumente (Flöten, Klarinetten), Werkzeuggriffe (Messer, Hämmer), Stifte und Luxusgüter (Schmuck, Uhren, Kameras).

Das RETWood-Projekt wird in Zusammenarbeit mit dem französischen Formteilhersteller Bois d'Harmonie durchgeführt. Unterstützt wird das Projekt von Eurostars, einem gemeinsamen Programm von EUREKA und der Europäischen Kommission. Eurostars unterstützt internationale Innovationsprojekte, die von forschungs- und entwicklungsorientierten KMU geleitet werden. Das Projekt läuft von November 2019 bis Oktober 2022.

Mehr zu Eurostars >

 Innosuisse

TEEWood mit Horizon 2020

In Zusammenarbeit mit Accelopment, einem Dienstleister spezialisiert auf die Teilnahme an Förderprogrammen, absolvierte Swiss Wood Solutions den umfangreichen Bewerbungsprozess beim europäischen Forschungsförderungsprogramm Horizon 2020. Das von der Europäischen Union finanzierte Programm verbindet Forschung mit Innovation, um Lösungen zu gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen zu finden. Rund 80 Milliarden Euro stehen von 2014 bis 2020 für aussichtsreiche wissenschaftliche Projekte zur Verfügung. Das von uns eingereichte Projekt TEEWood (Technologically Enhanced European Wood) wird im Rahmen von Horizon 2020 mit 1.5 Millionen Euro unterstützt. Die Projektlaufzeit beträgt zwei Jahre und endet im Januar 2020.

Vom anvisierten Produktionsausbau im Rahmen des TEEWood Projektes verspricht man sich eine Vielzahl von positiven Auswirkungen. Bei erfolgreichem Verlauf soll das Projekt die Rohstoffversorgung in von Tropenholz abhängigen Industrien wie der Musikinstrumentenindustrie sicherstellen. Der Kunde profitiert dabei von einem nachhaltigen Produkt mit justierbaren physikalisch-mechanischen Eigenschaften. Gleichzeitig bestehen im Gegensatz zu Tropenholz keinerlei Handels- und Reisebeschränkungen. Ökologisch leistet das Projekt einen Beitrag zur Erhaltung der Artenvielfalt und liefert gleichzeitig Anreize zur nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft in tropischen Klimaregionen. Politische Auswirkungen sind tiefere Anreize zum illegalen Raubbau von Tropenholz, welcher oftmals mit Korruption und schwerwiegender Wirtschaftskriminalität in den betroffenen Ländern in Verbindung steht. Und schliesslich leistet das TEEWood Projekt auch einen wertvollen Beitrag zur Erhaltung des Handwerks des traditionellen Musikinstrumentenbaus. Dieses Handwerk gerät durch zunehmend striktere Importbestimmungen ernsthaft unter Druck, weil das Rohmaterial, wenn überhaupt, nur noch mühsam zu beschaffen ist.

Mehr zum TEEWood Projekt >

Horizon 2020

Swiss Ebony mit der Gebert Rüf Stiftung

Bereits seit März 2016 wurde Swiss Wood Solutions von der Gebert Rüf Stiftung unterstützt. Die Wissenschafts- und Innovationsstiftung fördert anwendungsorientierte Projekte, welche an Schweizer Hochschulen entwickelt wurden. Mit einem jährlichen Budget von 15 Millionen Franken stärkt die Stiftung den Innovationsstandort Schweiz. Gebert Rüf hat zwei Projekte von Swiss Wood Solutions ermöglicht. Im Rahmen des Swiss Ebony Projektes gelang es dem Spin-off, die Dimensionsstabilität von natürlichem Ebenholz auch bei verdichteten einheimischen Hölzern zu erreichen. Das Rückquellen bei Feuchteänderungen konnte auf ein minimales Mass reduziert werden. Dadurch eignet sich das Material für die Fertigung von Musikinstrumenten.

Im Swiss Ebony Projekt II arbeitet Swiss Wood Solutions an der Justierbarkeit der physikalisch-mechanischen und optischen Eigenschaften des verdichteten Materials. Indem wichtige Parameter wie die Dichte und Farbe individuell den Kundenwünschen angepasst werden können, erlangt Swiss Wood Solutions ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal im Instrumentenmarkt. Dank der wertvollen Unterstützung durch die Gebert Rüf Stiftung konnte das Spin-off die Pilotproduktionslinie Swiss Ebony in Gang setzen, charakterisiert durch eine dunkelbraune Färbung. Der Technologie-Reifegrad 6 wurde erreicht (technology readiness level, kurz: TRL). Dies bedeutet, dass erste Prototypen in Streichinstrumente integriert wurden. Die Rückmeldungen von Instrumentenbauern und Musikern sind durchwegs positiv.

Gebert Rüf Stiftung >

Gebert ruef